5 Vital Elements of Vedic Astrology & The Planets Related To Them

Vedic astrology is a system of astrology which, though based on Sidereal Zodiac and is recorded in texts from India, including the Vedas. Vedic astrology has originated in India at least 3,000 years ago. Devas are one of the major gods for Hinduism and it is like a guiding power for humanity to control our emotions when we are affected by them. It can be said that in western zodiac Aries the first sign is Mars planet that mainly controls fire element and its protector (god) in native language is Agni deva.


Five elements of Vedic Astrology

Vedic astrologers rely on five elements:







elements of Vedic astrology


1. Fire Element

In Vedic astrology, fire is one of the five vital elements. The other four are earth, water, air, and space. Each element is associated with a planet. Fire is associated with the sun. The sun is the planet of self-expression and creativity. It represents our will power and our ability to take action.

The sun is said to be the king of the planets. It is the center of our solar system and the source of all life. Without the sun, there would be no life on Earth. The sun gives us light and day during half the year, and darkness and night during the other half.

The sun rules over Leo, which is a fire sign. Leo is associated with courage, strength, and determination. People who are born under this sign are natural leaders. They are confident and have a strong sense of self-worth. They are also generous and good natured.

If you have fire in your chart, it means that you have the potential to be a leader or to excel in any field that requires courage and determination. You may also have a strong interest in creative pursuits such as art or music.


2. Earth Element

The Vedic astrology system is based on five elements: water, fire, earth, air, and space. Each element is related to a planet, and these relationships can be used to interpret the results of planetary positions in a birth chart.

The element of Earth is associated with the planet Saturn. Saturn is a slow-moving planet, and its energy is heavy and grounding. The element of Earth gives stability and structure to our lives. It helps us to manifest our desires and brings things into material form.

When the planet Saturn is well-placed in a birth chart, it can bring success in business, assistance from influential people, and good health. However, when Saturn is poorly placed, it can cause problems with work or health, financial difficulties, and depression.


3. Air Element

The third element is air, and the planets related to it are Mercury and Jupiter. Mercury is the planet of communication and commerce, while Jupiter is the planet of wisdom and philosophy.

Air is the element of new beginnings, of ideas and mental activity. It is light, buoyant and ever-changing. When we are in touch with our air element, we are quick-witted, adaptable and resourceful. We are able to see both sides of every issue and find creative solutions to problems. We are good at communicating our ideas to others, and we have a strong sense of community.

Mercury is the planet of communication, commerce and travel. It helps us to think clearly and logically, and to communicate our ideas effectively. Mercury also rules over transportation, so it can help us to get where we need to go – whether that’s physically or metaphorically.

Jupiter is the planet of wisdom and higher learning. It helps us to see the big picture and understand the interconnectedness of all things. Jupiter also governs luck, so if we are connected to our Jupiter energy, we may find that good fortune comes our way more easily.


4. Water Element

The water element is represented by the planet Mercury, which is associated with the mind and communication. This element is important for our ability to think clearly and make decisions.

Water signs are also associated with emotions, so this element can help us to navigate our feelings and connect with others. When we are in touch with our emotions, we are better able to express ourselves and relate to others.

The water element can also be helpful in times of stress or change. When we are feeling overwhelmed, the water element can provide us with a sense of calm and peace.

If you want to work with the water element in your life, you can try meditating on Mercury or doing some energy work with the planet. You can also wear blue or green clothing to connect with this element.


5. Ether Element

In Vedic astrology, the five elements are a central part of understanding both the self and the cosmos. The elements are not only integral to understanding how energy moves through the planets and signs, but they also play a role in revealing our karmic imprints and how we can best work with them.

The five elements are Ether, Air, Fire, Water, and Earth. Each element is associated with a different quality or vibration, and each planet resonates with a particular element. When we understand the five elements, we can begin to see how they influence our lives and our astrological birth chart.

Ether: The Subtle Element

Ether is the subtle element that pervades all of creation. It is the space within which everything exists. Ether is formless and invisible, yet it is the foundation of all matter and energy.

In Vedic astrology, Ether is associated with the planet Rahu.

Rahu is the planet of illusion, darkness, and chaos. It is the shadow planet that obscures our vision and leads us astray. Rahu is associated with addiction, obsession, and obsession. It can also represent our karma, our past lives, and our hidden potential.

When we are born, Rahu is positioned in the 8th house of our birth chart. The 8th house is the house of death, transformation, and regeneration. This position indicates that we have a deep karmic connection to the Ether element.

The Ether element is also associated with the Akashic Records. The Akashic Records are the vibrational record of all that has ever happened in the Universe. They contain the knowledge of our soul’s journey through time and space.

When we access the Akashic Records, we can gain insights into our past lives and our soul’s purpose. We can also receive guidance on our current life path and how to create the future we desire.

The Ether element is connected to our higher mind and intuition. It is through the Ether element that we receive guidance from our higher self and the Universe. When we connect to the Ether element, we open ourselves up to limitless.

elements of Vedic astrology


Vedic astrology is a complex and ancient system that can seem daunting to those who are just beginning to study it. However, understanding the five vital elements of Vedic astrology and the planets related to them is a good place to start. Each element represents a different area of life, so by understanding which planet governs which element, you can begin to understand how the planets influence your life. With this knowledge, you can start making positive changes in your life that are aligned with your goals and aspirations.

Leave a Comment

Daily Horoscope- 08/12/2022 | CafeAstroSage Aries Weekly Horoscope |04 Dec- 10 Dec 2022 5 Vital Elements of Vedic Astrology 3 Insights into Love through Vedic Astrology 4 Karma’s of Vedic Astrology