8 Basic Terms And Astrological Definitions

Astrology is a complex and often confusing field. However, as learners of astrology, it’s crucial that we have an understanding of the Astrological definitions and terminology that goes into the phenomenon. The following lists cover the most common definitions related to this subject.


Astrology has been around for centuries and is continually evolving. There are many different techniques and schools of astrology, with each one having its own unique set of vocabulary. This can make it difficult to understand what someone is talking about when they use astrological terms. In this article, we will provide a basic introduction to some of the most common astrological definitions and vocabulary.

Asteroids: Small, rocky bodies that orbit the Sun. Asteroids are often used in astrology to represent the inner planets, such as the asteroid belt between Mars and Jupiter.

Aspects: The relationship between two or more planets when they are aligned in a certain way. There are several different types of aspects, including conjunction, sextile, square, trine, and opposition. Aspects can be either positive or negative, depending on the nature of the planets involved.

Chart: A graphical representation of the positions of the planets at a specific time and place. A birth chart is created for an individual based on their date, time, and place of birth. This chart is used to interpret the individual’s natal chart.

Element: One of four basic categories that describe the physical world (Fire, Earth, Air, Water). Each element has certain qualities that can be used to interpret a person’s temperament or physcial characteristics.

Astrological Definitions


Some of the Basic and Most Important Terms are:

1. Jyotish

Jyotish is a Sanskrit word meaning ‘light, brightness, luminary’. It is the traditional Hindu astrology, also known as Vedic astrology or Hindu astrology. Jyotish covers all aspects of human life and is used to make valuable predictions about future events.

The main focus of Jyotish is on the movement of the planets through the twelve signs of the zodiac. The planets are believed to have a direct influence on our lives, and their positions at any given time can be used to make accurate predictions about our future.

Jyotish is a complex system that takes many years to master. However, even a basic understanding of Jyotish can be very helpful in making important life decisions.


2. Rashi

Rashi is an ancient form of astrology that is based on the movement of the planets through the twelve signs of the zodiac. The word “Rashi” comes from the Sanskrit root “ṛṣi,” which means “to travel.” In Rashi, each planet is said to have a unique energy that influences the events and experiences of our lives.

The twelve signs of the zodiac are divided into three groups of four signs each. These groups are known as the fire signs (Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius), the earth signs (Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn), and the water signs (Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces). Each group has its own qualities and energies that affect us in different ways.

Rashi is a powerful tool for understanding yourself and your place in the universe. If you know your Rashi sign, you can use this knowledge to make better decisions, set realistic goals, and create a fulfilling life.


3. Bhava

In Vedic astrology, Bhava is one of the most important concepts. It basically refers to the soul or self. The positioning of the planets in the birth chart is said to determine the individual’s soul or character. There are 12 bhavas in total, each representing a different area of life.


4. Lagna

Lagna is the Hindu astrological equivalent of the ascendant in Western astrology. It is the point of intersection of the ecliptic with the horizon at the moment of birth, and is used in Vedic astrology as one of the main indicators in a horoscope.


5. Vimshottari Dasha

In Vedic astrology, the Vimshottari Dasha is a 120-year cycle of lunar mansions, used for predicting major life events. The cycle begins at birth, with each mansion representing a different phase of life. The first mansion, Ashwini, represents childhood; Bharani, adolescence; Krittika, adulthood; Rohini, middle age; Mrigashirsha, old age; and finally, Ardra, death.

The Vimshottari Dasha is said to be an incredibly accurate method of prediction, as it takes into account the movement of the Moon through the sky. This is why it is often used in conjunction with other methods of astrological prediction, such as transit analysis and natal chart interpretation.


6. Nakshatras

Nakshatras are the 27 lunar constellations that the Moon passes through during its orbit around Earth. Each nakshatra is associated with a specific celestial body, and each has its own astrological significance.

The Moon spends about 2.3 days in each nakshatra, and the position of the Moon in a nakshatra can be used to make predictions about events in a person’s life. The nakshatras can also be used to determine compatibility between people for purposes such as marriage.


7. Prashna

In Vedic astrology, a prashna is an astrological question that can be answered using a horoscope. The word prashna means ‘question’ in Sanskrit.

There are several methods of doing a prashna, but the most common is to use the horoscope of the person who is asking the question. This is done by looking at the planets in the horoscope, and interpreting their positions and interactions with each other.

Prashna can be used to answer any kind of question, but it is most commonly used to answer questions about relationships, career, and other important life decisions.


8. Horary

A horary astrology chart is erected for the moment a question is asked about something important, and can be used to answer questions about anything from personal problems to world events. The question must be specific, and the querent must be sincere in their desire to know the answer.

Horary astrology is an ancient practice that has been used by many cultures throughout history. The most famous horary astrologer was probably Nostradamus, who is said to have predicted many major events, including the French Revolution and the 9/11 attacks.

There are a few things to keep in mind when casting a horary chart. First, the planets must be in correct order from left to right: Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto. Second, the houses must be aligned correctly: 1st house=Aries; 2nd house=Taurus; 3rd house=Gemini; 4th house=Cancer; 5th house=Leo; 6th house=Virgo; 7th house=Libra; 8th house=Scorpio; 9th house=Sagittarius; 10th house=Capricornus; 11th house=Aquarius; 12th house=Pisces.

Once the chart is cast, the astrologer will interpret the symbols according to traditional methods. There are many different interpretations of what each symbol means, so it is important to consult with an experienced horary astrologer.



I hope this article on astrological definitions and vocabulary has helped clear up some of the confusion around this often-misunderstood topic. While there is still much debate surrounding the validity of astrology, I believe that it can be a helpful tool for self-reflection and understanding our place in the universe. With a better understanding of astrology, we can all gain a greater insight into ourselves and the world around us.

Leave a Comment

Daily Horoscope- 08/12/2022 | CafeAstroSage Aries Weekly Horoscope |04 Dec- 10 Dec 2022 5 Vital Elements of Vedic Astrology 3 Insights into Love through Vedic Astrology 4 Karma’s of Vedic Astrology